

MEMBERS

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Sharon Burke Public Member George H. Schmidt Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho County Member

Don Tatzin City Member

July 14, 2010 Agenda Item 15

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer '

Helen Allen City Member **Federal Glover** County Member Martin McNair Public Member

Dwight Meadows Special District Member David A. Piepho Special District Member Rob Schroder City Member

Gayle B. Uilkema County Member

July 14, 2010 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

CALAFCO Call for Board of Directors and Achievement Award Nominations

Dear Commissioners:

Each year, prior to the annual conference, CALAFCO issues a call for Board of Director candidates and Achievement Award nominations. The election of CALAFCO Board members and Achievement Award ceremony take place at the annual CALAFCO conference.

As previously reported, over the past year, the CALAFCO Board has been working on a proposal to reshape the elections process for the Board of Directors to insure that statewide interests and perspectives are represented on the Board. The bylaws changes will create four regions within the state for the purpose of electing the CALAFCO Board of Directors.

In February 2010, the Board unanimously approved a proposal for bylaws changes to be voted on by the CALAFCO membership. In May, official ballots were sent to each member LAFCo. At your May 12 LAFCO meeting, the Commission authorized the Chair to cast a vote supporting the bylaws changes on behalf of Contra Costa LAFCO. The voting period ends on July 9. The outcome of the bylaws vote will determine the Board nomination and election process, which will occur at the annual CALAFCO conference in October 2010 (Palm Springs). Conference and registration material is included in your agenda packet, and is available on the CALAFCO website at www.calafco.org and through the LAFCO office.

This is a placeholder staff report; a supplemental staff report will be issued following the July 9 election deadline.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA **EXECUTIVE OFFICER**